## PUBLIC INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE OF OWNERSHIP CHECK SHEET

The following information must be completed and submitted for all vehicles that are currently located in the State of Utah and you do not have a title. If necessary, we will provide the previous owner with your name, address and telephone number. If you have the vehicle in your possession and are in another state, you must apply for title in that state. It is the requestor's responsibility to prove to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that the vehicle is valued at less than \$3000.

Printed digital photos (prefer color) of <u>ALL sides</u> of the vehicle that clearly show the condition of the
vehicle – <u>inside and out</u> . Example: If the engine is missing, interior has been severely damaged, missing
parts, flat tires, and/or windows broke/cracked; pictures are required to verify the condition. A valid repair
order will be required if requestor believes the vehicles value is less than \$3000 and the pictures do not justify
the lower value.

## □ Ownership Statement, form TC-569A, must contain the following information:

- A complete explanation of facts explaining the absence of a negotiable title or current registration for non-title states;
- How the vehicle was obtained and from whom.
- A statement indicating any outstanding liens or encumbrances on the vehicle (if known);
- A statement indicating where (if known) the vehicle was last titled or registered.
- A detailed description of the condition of the vehicle; and
- Any other information pertinent to the possession of the vehicle.

VIN Inspection (Not needed when vehicle has a Utah registration): VIN Inspection can be completed at any
DMV Branch Office or a Certified Safety/Emission Station Inspector or by a Utah Law Enforcement Officer.

Any 'Bill of Sale'	' and/or Release	of Ownership	and other	pertinent d	locuments su	ich as receipt	s for
repairs.						i S II	

A completed and signed TC-656, Application for Registration/Title form is required for each vehicle. I	f
vehicle was purchased, sales and use tax will be applicable. You will be notified of the amount due.	

Dealers/Storage Facilities/Lien Holders/Financial Institutions: Original returned certified mail (unopened)
and copy of letter and returned original certified mail card. Documents will not be accepted if the 30-day
certified letter date has not expired. Mechanics with signed work orders must complete the Repairmen's
Lien process - TC-839R. Self-Storage Facilities must complete the Self-Storage Lien process - TC-839S

The DMV will check to see if the vehicle is registered in another state or if it has been reported stolen. If the vehicle has been reported stolen, the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division will be contacted immediately, and this process will stop until further notice from MVED.

If the vehicles value has been determined to be over \$3000 and the Ownership Statement is incomplete and/or pictures justify that a bond is required, you will need to obtain a Surety Bond for twice the value of the vehicle. You will be notified if a bond will be required.

PLEASE MAKE COPIES OF DOCUMENTS PRIOR TO SUBMITTING TO:

<u>DMV/VEHICLE COMPLIANCE SERVICES, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT</u>

<u>84134 OR SCAN AND EMAIL TO</u>

<u>VEHICLECOMPLIANCE@UTAH.GOV</u>