

Utah State Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Enforcement

Upcoming Holidays

State Offices will be closed on the following Holidays:

May 26, 2025

June 16, 2025

July 4, 2025

July 24, 2025

September 1, 2025

Commonly Used Phone Numbers and Websites MVED

801-297-2600

801-297-2699 Fax

mved.utah.gov

DMV

801-297-7780

dmv.utah.gov

Tax Division

801-297-2200

tax.utah.gov

Tax Warehouse - Forms

801-297-3878



Renewal Reminder

All MVED licenses expire June 30th each year. Be sure to renew in a timely manner so we have time to process your renewal and get decals (if applicable) mailed out to you.

MVED Licenses are now online in your Businesses MVP account

Your MVED licenses will now be online. You can now log into your MVP account and print those licenses anytime. When we process a transaction for a license you will get an email reminding you to log in and print. You can also print out replacement licenses if they are lost.

Monthly Reports of Sale are due on the 10th of each month for all Dealers

The TC-928 Monthly Report of Sale needs to be filed monthly, even if you don't have any sales for that month. This report includes wholesale sales, sales to non Utah residents, and sales in which you did not issue a 45 day dealer permit. Instead of filing the paper form, you can also report your monthly reports of sale via your account on the MVP portal www.mvp.tax.utah.gov

This report is also used to help determine the number of dealer plates you can renew each year.

MVED Complaint Forms can be submitted via the MVP portal

MVED Complaint Forms can be submitted electronically via our MVP portal. www.mvp.tax.utah.gov go to the MVED section, then submit a complaint. You will upload all supporting documents during the process.

TC-466 Transaction Disclosure Form

Please do not send a copy of the TC-466 in with your title/registration documents to the DMV. That form should be kept in the dealer jacket. A motor vehicle dealer must complete and present this form to a potential retail vehicle buyer before the sale is finalized. This form is not required for auction sales or fleet transactions.

Non-Resident Sales Tax Exemption Form TC-721A

This form has been changed slightly. Instead of keeping it in your dealer files, you must go to your TAP account and upload the form within 45 days of the sale. Instructions can be found on the most recent version of the form. https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-721a.pdf

New Management at Enforcement/MVED

Allan Shinney and Larry Ball recently retired after many years of service.

Our new management is:

Senior Director of Enforcement

Eric White

Director of MVED

Cole McAfee

Captain of MVED

Ray Kaleel

Lieutenants of MVED

Phil Arnold

Brian Stilson

MVED Temporary Permit Fees Changed 01/01/2025

Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles	\$70.50
Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles with expired permit	\$141.00

Vehicles weighing in excess of 12,000 lbs gross weight are charged a 1/4 year registration fee. Please call MVED at 801-297- 2600 for the amount. The weight of the vehicle must be listed on the temporary permit. If the permit has expired a 100% penalty will also be assessed.

Motorcycles Motorcycles with expired permit	\$71.00 \$142.00
Off Highway Off Highway with expired permit	\$41.50 \$83.00
Snowmobile Snowmobile with expired permit	\$28.50 \$57.00
Trailer Trailer with expired permit	\$48.00 \$96.00

The current fees can always be found online on our website under the Dealer Overview section. https://dmv.utah.gov/mved/dealers-overview/

Anytime the DMV registration fees change, it affects the fees due to clear a permit. Always look for the most recent chart to determine the fees due.