Civil and commercial aircraft with a valid airworthiness certificate issued by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) are required to be registered with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If your aircraft qualifies for state property tax assessment and potential exemption from this registration requirement, the Property Tax Division of the Utah State Tax Commission will contact you.
All aircraft registrations begin on January 1st, and expire on December 31st. If you are registering your aircraft for the first time, your registration fee will be prorated according to the number of months remaining in the year. Please note that only first-time aircraft registrations are eligible for prorated fees. Aircraft registration renewal fees are not prorated, even if you renew your aircraft late. Upon registration, your aircraft will be issued a registration certificate and decal.
Prior to visiting the DMV to register your aircraft, you must register your aircraft with the FAA and have an assigned "N" number. Information on FAA registration may be found at www.faa.gov. The DMV must be able to locate your aircraft's FAA information on the FAA web site before your aircraft can be registered with the state of Utah.
Save Time! Visit the FAA Registry to search for and print your aircraft's FAA information before visiting the DMV office.
Unless proof of prior payment can be furnished, sales and use tax is due on new aircraft purchases at the time of registration with the DMV.
All aircraft registered with the DMV are subject to a $25 uniform property tax and a registration fee which varies as listed in the table below. The Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest is used to determine the average wholesale value of the aircraft. Please see the following table for complete registration fees:
|Aircraft||Uniform Fee||Registration Fee|
|General Aircraft||$25.00||0.4% of the Average Wholesale Value|
|General Aircraft, at least 50 years old||$25.00||Lesser of $100.00 or 0.4% of the Average Wholesale Value|
|General Aircraft, leased to an air charter service*||$25.00||0.25% of the Average Wholesale Value|
|General Aircraft, not found in Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest||$25.00||$100.00|
*Aircraft must be owned by a party other than the air charter service, and must be used for air charter purposes. Aircraft owned by the air charter service are subject to the General Aircraft registration fee.
Your aircraft’s value, if applicable, will be reassessed each year at the time of registration. You will be sent a reminder renewal notice prior to the expiration date.
For questions regarding aircraft registration with the DMV, please call 1-800-368-8824 or 801-297-7780 or see Contact Information for other contact options.
This website is provided for general guidance only. It does not contain all motor vehicle laws or rules.