Utah DMV

Online Services

Vehicle Services


Offices & Contacts

Forms & Pubs



Important Notice About Your Month Decal!

If your month decal has faded or is missing it needs to be replaced immediately! There is no fee for a month decal replacement.

alert iconTo replace a month decal:

When a vehicle is lawfully towed, the registered owner is responsible for paying the towing, impound and storage fees, plus any additional fees required if the vehicle was impounded after a DUI arrest – even if the owner was not the intoxicated driver.

Applicable Fees

  • Improper registration fee is $46.00. This fee is required on all impounded vehicles unless it was reported as stolen. Verification of the theft is required before this is waived.
  • DUI impound fee is $350.00
  • "No Insurance" reinstatement fee is $100.00 if the registration has been revoked
  • If the vehicle has not been registered, all registration fees will also be required before the vehicle can be released.

Appeal of Impound or Towing Fees

If an individual disagrees with an impound, the vehicle owner must respond within 30 days of the date of the letter to protect his or her appeal rights. To file an appeal, a "Petition for Re-determination" must be completed and the vehicle owner must attach all supporting documentation, and send it to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
Miscellaneous Services Unit
PO Box 30412
Salt Lake City, Utah 84130

The purpose of the "Petition for Re-determination" is to submit a written protest—or appeal—of an impound or any of its related fees. The DMV will schedule a division conference (usually a telephone conference) to discuss the issues and to answer any questions. If, after the conference, the vehicle owner still disagrees with the impound or fees, the petition, along with DMV's answers, will be forwarded to the Tax Commission Appeals Section. The Appeals Section will schedule an informal hearing before an administrative law judge.