Home

Utah DMV

Online Services

Vehicle Services

Vehicles

Offices & Contacts

Forms & Pubs

Index

Home

Important Notice About Your Month Decal!

If your month decal has faded or is missing it needs to be replaced immediately! There is no fee for a month decal replacement.

alert iconTo replace a month decal:

When a vehicle is lawfully towed, the registered owner is responsible for paying the towing, impound and storage fees, plus any additional fees required at the time of impound release.

Applicable Fees

  • Improper registration impound fee is $46.00, plus any additional fees that are due at time of release. The impound fee is required on all impounded vehicles unless it was reported as stolen. Verification of the theft is required before this is waived. 
  • DUI impound fee is $350.00, plus any additional fees required at time of release.  Impound fee is due even if the owner was not the intoxicated driver.
  • "No Insurance" reinstatement fee is $100.00 if the registration has been revoked
  • If the vehicle has not been registered, all registration fees will also be required before the vehicle can be released.

Appeal of Impound Fees

In order to appeal impound fees charged, the vehicle owner must respond within 30 days of the date of the impound notice to protect his or her appeal rights. To file an appeal, a "Petition for Re-determination" must be completed and the vehicle owner must attach all supporting documentation. Depending on the reason for impoundement, supporting documentation may include; proof of current registration, proof of ownership or court documents.  Send all documentaion to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
Miscellaneous Services Unit
PO Box 30412
Salt Lake City, Utah 84130

The purpose of the "Petition for Re-determination" is to submit a written protest—or appeal—of impound fees. The DMV will schedule a division conference (usually a telephone conference) to discuss the issues and to answer any questions. If, after the conference, the vehicle owner still disagrees with the impound fees, the petition, along with DMV's answers, will be forwarded to the Tax Commission Appeals Section. The Appeals Section will schedule an informal hearing before an administrative law judge.